Change the world



Governance of the Trust is in the hands of 16 Trustees, who ensure that the Trust complies with all external audit and transparency requirements and pursues projects that enhance the work and development of the university. 

The Trust comprises 17 trustees, eight appointed by the NMMU Council and eight independent members. Each member serves on the Trust for three years. The terms of office may be renewed or a replacement may be appointed if a member cannot continue with Trust activities.

Dr Xolani Mkhwanazi
Chairman : Retired businessman
President : Chamber of Mines

Justice Ronnie Pillay
Supreme Court of Appeal

Professor Derrick Swartz
Vice-Chancellor : NMMU

Ms Almorie Maule
Director on the Boards of Old Mutual, SA and Mutual & Federal
Director of Impala Platinum

Mr Eric Ratshikopha
Retired Businessman

Mr Marius Scheepers
Retired businessman and ex-Executive Director: Finance at NMMU

Professor Thokozile Mayekiso
Vice-Chancellor of the University of Mpumalanga

Mr Randolph Jonas
CEO : Eastcape Training Centre

Mr Demetrios Argyrakis
Independant Consulting Engineer

Mr Achmat Mohamed
Executive Director Automotive Division Ukuvula Investment Holdings

Dr Paul Shongwe
President : Helderberg College

Mr Richard Piyose
Regional Employee Relations Consultant: ABSA

Mr Cumesh Moodliar
Regional Head : Investec Private Bank

Ms Nozipho January-Bardill
Self-employed Management Consultant
Non Executive Director of multiple companies

Ms Adri Ludorf
Managing Director: Goldberg & De Villiers Attorneys

Ms Celia Geyer
Hilton Hotel Architect